On Perseverance

I’ve been at this blog for a while now and I haven’t had any “big breaks” or spikes in followers or anything like that. I haven’t had a post go viral. Neither has this happened for my YouTube channel.

Perseverance

This lovely quote, by Arnold Schwarzenegger, is exactly what I’m talking about.

I don’t need that to happen, though.

I’ve been slowly, but surely, building up my subscribers. Every day or so I’ll get another follower and that’s always an ego boost. Sometimes it’s frustrating to keep posting day after day when it seems like very few people are reading. But the people who do read it, do so regularly. They’re actually interested in the content I put out. (Thanks, guys).

Had I had a post go viral or had some sort of twist of luck go my way in the beginning, I don’t think I’d still be blogging right now. I wouldn’t have been able to handle all that and the amount of people reading wouldn’t have meant as much to me.

I’ve had a chance to develop my voice and style a lot more than others have. I’ve worked up a good base of people who genuinely like my writing. I’m going to continue to do that. If I need to do it the good old fashion way and gain just one subscriber a day, then that’s what I’ll do.

Number of views isn’t indicative of the quality of the content. It only means the right people saw it and passed it along or featured it or what have you. If that happens to me at some point, great. I’d know what to do now that I’ve been at it for a while. And that’s pretty much to keep doing what I’m doing.

But when it comes down to it, when I start self-publishing I want people to actually want to read it. I hope to have a solid base of followers who are interested in my writing. I don’t want a bunch of people who would breeze passed something on my blog that says I have a novel and think, “Oh, that’s nice.”

I’m not going to lie. It’s frustrating sometimes to see content going viral that doesn’t have much substance. But, I’m not going to compromise my craft and who I am to appeal more to the masses. I’m not a mainstream type of person and that’s fine by me. (Feeble attempt to appeal to the hipster crowd. Just kidding. Kinda).

So, I hope you guys like me for me, because I’m not changing. I’m going to keep doing my thing and if people want to read those things, well, wow, ummm, I don’t know what to say except, THANKS!

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/pictoquotes/9131516197/”>symphony of love</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

