On Learning a Language

I’ve been learning German for almost three years now. Can that be right? Yes, it’s right. Time flies. I started learning it in school, but after I dropped out, I kept on teaching myself.

Learning a language is one of the hardest things to do alone because you have to, you know, speak. I do a lot of talking out loud to myself and writing, but the biggest way I learn is by listening to a lot of German. I listen to German music, watch German movies, watch videos and try to translate them.

A picture of the Vienna Opera House I took while I was there.

A picture of the Vienna Opera House I took while I was there.

Like with anything else, when you’re learning a language, you need to stick with it. You can’t start learning it and then take a break for a week. I tell myself to do a half hour a day. It’s not a lot, but it keeps me on a consistent schedule. I’m on my way to fluency, slowly but surely.

The thing I have the hardest time with is vocabulary. Any of my high school English teachers could tell you this about me. I was one of those people who would get 100s on papers but 50s on vocab tests. You may be asking why someone like me would ever want to learn a language, I ask myself that every day.

This is why I do a lot of listening to German. After a while, you don’t have to think about the words, they just come. I can’t really sit myself down and study a list of words, because I’d be there forever. I just don’t have that kind of memory. I also don’t have the time to commit to that.

One of the best things that happens when you’re learning a language, usually after a long night of studying, is when you dream in that language. It’s a magical accomplishment. It always leaves me with a wonderful feeling the next day and a sense of motivation to make myself keep dreaming in German. German dreams are the best.

What I really want to do is go to Germany or Austria for a while and fully immerse myself in the language. I’ve already been to Austria and I loved it. That was only after two semesters of studying the language, though, so I just looked like a big doof trying to speak. Some day, when I’m rich and famous, I’ll move to Germany and only ever speak in German.

If you want to learn a language, go ahead and do it. It’s a wonderful skill and really cool. There are so many online resources of which you can take advantage. It’s not the easiest thing to teach yourself, but if you set aside some time each day, you’ll be well on your way.

5 thoughts on “On Learning a Language

  1. Couldn’t agree more on everything you said. I myself recently got more interested in Spanish. I love everything about it. Not really sure what attracted me to Spanish of all languages. Considering where I used to live and where I live now, there’s not much Spanish culture or influence, but yeah. I tend to listen to alot of Spanish music and try to even watch Spanish shows online. I often get told by friends “stop posting soo much Spanish music” lol.

    So funny about dreaming in said language, its happened to me too, I was singing some song in Spanish at the same time as someone was singing the English version (weird huh?) Haha.

    Great post. Here’s to more people taking an interest in another language and broadening their horizons!

  2. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your articles?

    I mean, what you say is fundamental and all. Nevertheless think
    about if you added some great pictures or video clips to give your posts
    more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with images and video clips, this blog could undeniably be one of the best in its niche.
    Superb blog!

Leave a Reply

