On Our Life Goals

I’m going to give all my readers a little tough loving on this Two Way Hump Day. It’s about our life goals. I see so many people wandering through life with no intent and purpose and all I want to say is, “get it together.”

GoalsLet me introduce you to someone. She’s a spunky gal. She has a way of teaching you lessons and kicking your ass while you’re down. She’s most certainly not a bitch, despite what people say about her, because she gives so much. She’s the reason you fall in love, or experience happiness, or enjoy laughing at other people when they fall on their asses. Her name is life.

People are really mean to her, despite how much she gives them. People tend to shut her out, because, let’s face it; she can be frightening as fuck. She’s unpredictable, elusive, and hard to understand. But, the more people shut her out, the more terrifying she becomes.

She doesn’t ask anything from you, only for your existence back when you’re done. She only wants you, and everyone around you, to feel all the love and emotions you can while you can.

So, let’s talk about our life goals.

Most people would agree happiness is the ultimate goal. Most people would also agree that’s a ton of bullshit and not something people will ever obtain. Why? Because we have to constantly sustain our lives, make a living, be conscious of other lives, etc, and that all gets in the way of our happiness.

So, what really is the goal?

For me, personally, my goal is to not be so scared of life, stop shutting her out. It’s certainly not the same as happiness, because she brings a lot of pain, I mean, a lot. But, the alternative is cold and dark and gross.

My goal is to make my life have meaning. I don’t want to be afraid of putting in work to things I love for fear of it not panning out. Then, nothing happens. My life would lose meaning. I wouldn’t be living.

It’s Two Way Hump Day and I want to open this concept up for discussion. I want you all to talk about your own life goals. How do you make sure you’re not shutting out life? How do you make meaning of your life?

Start a discussion in the comments below or tweet me @oshitbritt and tag it #TwoWayHumpDay

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/slimcoincidence/3028687166/”>Krista76</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

