On Florida!

I've seen plenty of these guys while down here.

I’ve seen plenty of these guys while down here.

So, I am in Florida right now. My brother bought my plane ticket and we took a trip down to stay with our Grandma and her partner (I don’t know the word they use to describe each other, I settled on partner because it’s the least awkward).

I’m writing this on Friday and posting it on Monday, so I’ve been here for maybe nine hours now. The better part of this week I’m going to be posting about my trip, because travel writing is something I’m interested in and what better way to start than when I’m, you know, travelling? But, today, I’m just going to do a general overview of the feeling of travelling, relaxing, and my general mind frame.

Right now I’m sitting out on an enclosed porch – a veranda or lanai or whatever the kids are calling it these days. I’m getting some writing done and listening to the crickets. It’s serene and a wonderful way to get those creative energies flowing.

Since getting in, nine hours ago, we’ve relaxed on the beach, searched for some seashells, walked a pier, at some good food, and listened to some live music. The most surreal moment so far: listening to a reggae band play “One Love” by Bob Marley while eating Key Lime pie on the beach.

Vacations are a break from our busy lives and they make us value little things, but they also put things into perspective. It makes us realize how insane it is that we work so hard and push ourselves to the limit so much. At the end of our lives, the times we’ll remember are the times we sat back and actually appreciated life.

Of course we all have the age-old struggle of trying to balance soaking up life and also meeting basic needs. If anyone knows how to do that, by all means, tell me. I have no idea.

As I spend time here, freeing my mind from its usual worries, I find myself worrying about something else: how can I find a way to live a life more like this? How can I stop myself from the constant worry?

I think vacations are meant to be temporary, though. Certainly there are ways to live more relaxed, worry-free lives, but it can’t be vacation all the time. Nothing would ever get done.

As I said, time away is good for perspective. It reminds us the purpose of it all. We don’t need to work ourselves to death. Sometimes it’s appropriate to take some time away, even time away from things we love. Things we love are sometimes the most taxing on us.

This has been my sort of prelude to my week of testing the waters of travel writing. I hope you enjoy the week. I certainly will.

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/blmiers2/6345446951/”>blmiers2</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “On Florida!

  1. “Partner” is a good word for my… well, um, partner. And as a travel writer, put yourself in the role of the grandma, who waits and plans for and looks forward to so much your visit. Imagine her joy as she sees you arrive from bitter cold weather to sunshine and sand and gentle sea. And especially, to have you spend some precious time with her as she watches you bask in beach-side living. Now THAT is worth the years of working hard and saving wisely.

Leave a Reply

