On Getting Advice

cooltext1238507781

Sometimes it’s hard to receive advice. It’s hard to admit that someone may know better than you. Listening to advice means facing our own shortcomings. It can be disappointing, but maybe humbling.

I have certain people from whom I tend to listen to advice. It’s like if they’ve steered me right before, I’m more apt to listen in the future. Or, if I’m really close to someone, I don’t mind admitting that I’m wrong. I can face my humanity more with certain people than with others.

A good piece of advice is hard to come by. There are a lot of people who don’t know what they’re talking about but still like to talk. That phrase, “advice is cheap,” is absolutely true. People love giving their opinions.

Sometimes what they tell you is what has worked for them, but it might not be the universal rule. How can we know what will work for another person? We can’t, but we know what has worked for ourselves and we try to apply it to other situations.

A good piece of advice, one that truly is universal, is one of the best gifts a person could give. It takes a true understanding of people and the world. It takes a lot of thought.

Sometimes when a person gives me a wonderful piece of advice, I stop in my tracks. I’m usually so set in my own ways that I’m about ready to shut down that advice, but then I have to think and admit that it is really insightful. I like those moments because they force me to recognize my own limitedness.

So, it’s “Two Way Hump Day” again. My question is:

 

How do you respond to advice? Are there certain people in your life you know give good advice? And what’s the best piece of advice you’ve ever gotten?

 

Answer in the comments below, write your own post and tag it “Two Way Hump Day,” or tweet @oshitbritt.

One thought on “On Getting Advice

  1. Be careful whose advice you buy, but, be patient with those who supply it. Advice is a form of nostalgia, Dispensing it is a way of fishing the past from the disposal, wiping it off, painting over the ugly parts and recycling it for more than it’s worth.” –Bas Luhrmann

Leave a Reply

