On My Style of Cooking

Cooking clearly means something different for this woman.

Cooking clearly means something different for this woman.

Cooking is one of my favorite things to do. I feel so free and creative while cooking, and then of course afterwards I get to enjoy the reward of my delicious food.

Everyone has their own ways of cooking and their own reasons for doing so. Some people do it as their livelihood; others do it merely to live. Some people focus on health; others focus on taste. It stresses some people out while it relaxes other people.

This is a little bit of what cooking means to me.

I’m definitely not the type of person who follows recipes. I go with the flow, tasting my dish every now and then to see what to add. That often turns people off from my cooking, since my food seems carelessly thrown together and I never measure a thing, but my method has only failed me a couple times. I have found when I follow a recipe, cooking loses a lot of its thrill.

When I cook I usually listen to Janis Joplin. Her soulful voice makes me put soul into my cooking and makes everything better. I keep her playing as I eat my food too. It’s a whole experience.

Something about cooking makes the entire house feel different. It fills with the smell of the dish and changes the whole atmosphere. It becomes homier. Maybe that’s why candles that smell like pies or other types of food are so popular. Let’s be honest though, a candle pales in comparison to the real thing. Especially when you get to eat the real thing.

I like to make food for other people. It’s a sign of affection and community. Eating together, breaking bread, is a bonding experience, almost as much as drinking together. And if you’re doing both, then forget about it.

I’m writing all this because I just made some vegan jambalaya and it was really, really good. I told myself I had to write this post after I finished cooking, but the jambalaya is all I can think about.

I love food.

So, what’s your style of cooking? What does it mean to you? As part of “Two Way Hump Day,” answer below in the comments, or tweet @oshitbritt.

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/jay_defehr/8587483603/”>Jay DeFehr</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “On My Style of Cooking

  1. Enjoy the fruits of your labor! The beauty of it is not in the act of cooking, but in the meaning behind it and all the love it brings into your life. I love that.

Leave a Reply

