On Alone Time

Looks like heaven to me.

Looks like heaven to me.

Does anyone else get an absurd amount of joy from being alone? Sometimes I just feel so giddy when I can sit alone in my dark bedroom and watch a movie with a snack. Some of the happiest moments of my life have been alone. Hell, I travelled Europe alone; of course some of my happiest moments were alone.

It’s a different kind of happy to be alone than to be with people I care about. By being with others, I take joy from shared experiences. It’s about appreciating the people they are. When I’m alone, however, the joy lies in being able to just be.  I can just be lazy and curl up under my blankets and not offer the world a goddamn thing. I have the quietness to absorb and reflect on the movies I watch or just anything at all. Food tastes better because I can focus on it. Other people, while it’s nice to have them in my life, end up taking a lot of focus from me. They take me out of my grounded self to this world of interaction that can be straining for me.

Being alone is when I feel the most magical because I feel in my element. It’s when the little things have the most meaning, like when my hot chocolate tastes extra creamy. It’s when a song gives me chills because it feels like the words are for me. It’s when I can listen to Simon and Garfunkel’s song, “I am a Rock” on repeat because that’s my exact mood. People don’t usually peg me for the happiest person in the world, but boy if they could see me in my alone time they would. But, they’ll never see that, because I wouldn’t be alone then.

 

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/micahtaylor/4718709411/”>Micah Taylor</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

