On Getting a New Hairstyle

You know how when people get their hair styled in a different way or change their appearance at all and they expect everyone to notice? That annoys me. I never notice stuff like that. I don’t pay attention to other people’s appearance all that much, especially not small details like that.

Well, I just cut my hair and got bangs and I found myself wanting other people to notice. It seemed, in mymedium_6280387698 mind, like a pretty drastic change. I thought that people who see me often should notice. It was hypocritical and self-centered. Every time someone didn’t notice I told myself that I wouldn’t notice either and that it didn’t really matter at all.

My new bangs got me thinking about how different we view ourselves from how others view us. We focus more on every little detail of our appearances to the point where it’s destructive. Just how we focus on a changed hairstyle, we see all our flaws much more blatantly than others see. One small blemish becomes all we focus on when to others; it’s merely a small dot, maybe unnoticeable just like new bangs. Well, if you think about it, if people don’t notice something that covers half of a person’s face, they probably don’t notice a small mark.

If we could see ourselves, just for a minute the way others see us, then all our worries would subside, I’m sure of it. Just think about how you see a person; do you scrutinize every detail of his or her face and body? If so, you’re pretty harsh. Typically, people don’t do that.

So, next time you’re looking in the mirror and tearing apart your appearance and feeling down because of it, think about how you look at a person. Try to apply that mindset to the way you look at yourself. It should put you at ease.

 

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/jox1989/6280387698/”>gioiadeantoniis</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “On Getting a New Hairstyle

  1. Pingback: On My One Hundredth Post | Oshitbritt on Things

Leave a Reply

