On the Outrage that is GoldieBlox

The company, GoldieBlox came to my attention with the release of their music video.  I couldn’t be more outraged.

The music video got my heart beating fast and my lips pursing and pouting. I sat there in jealous rage as I lamented over my lost childhood without these toys. I grew up feeling weird for playing with Legos. I had the inherent knowledge that the toys I liked weren’t meant for me, yet I still enjoyed them. Strategic games, like Mouse Trap, caught my attention, but they were always marketed for little boys.

Watching the commercial for GoldieBlox, I felt like I was a kid again. I knew exactly what little Oshitbritt would have thought. First of all, I’d want to immediately start creating contraptions and designing elaborate traps like the one featured in the video. And secondly, I’d feel a sense of belonging because it was marketed towards little girls, like myself. Something on which to unleash my analytical and creative thought paired with the confidence and “girl power” that the song instills would have made me the happiest little girl there could be.

If there were more toys like that when I was little, more opportunities to develop that part of my mind, I can’t help but think I’d be doing something different, something like engineering or architecture. But then, I wouldn’t be writing these phenomenal blog posts for you to read. You win some; you lose some.

A variety of toys like these, to foster creativity, imagination, analytical and spatial skills is exactly what girls need. Instead of complaining about Barbie’s body, why don’t we forget Barbie all together? There are certainly skills to be gained, primarily verbal, by playing with dolls, but what is with these dolls that focus so much on appearance? Why do they all need to be pretty and pink? And why is that the only option for girls? I see change coming with GoldieBlox and it’s products. There will be more options for girls that will lead to more options for women.

Image

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/77174904@N08/8048172645/”>ricarose</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “On the Outrage that is GoldieBlox

  1. I love this so much. In a way, it’s kind of moving to see such things. After having gone to an all girls school who preached that women could be great at math and demonstrated this in our test scores and accomplishments in Math League. I work a lot with kids, and I am proud to say that whenever I work with girls, I am very conscious about the messages I am sending in my behavior, and I make a point of doing activities with them that I know I would love as a child– the majority of which are things that would be characterized as tomboyish. Not once that I can remember have girls reacted negatively to this. In fact, from my experience, it is boys who have a harder time with bending gender stereotypes. Further, this summer I worked with one of my co-counselors (a female who happened to graduate from our all girls high school and is currently studying environmental engineering) to create our own rube goldberg machine like the one depicted in the Goldieblox commercial. It was so fun, and I remember thinking how this was the best game I’ve ever played… if only this existed when we were kids.

    • That’s so awesome! I wish I had more opportunities and more adult who encouraged me to play in these ways. It’s unbelievable to think that the way our minds our developed is so dependent on the toys we play with when were younger. Not just the toys, but the messages we see, the behavior we’re taught is acceptable, etc. It’s be wonderful if we could live in a world where any form of playing and learning about the world (as long as it’s not harming anyone) is acceptable for children, so that, when they grow up, any career track or way of presenting themselves is acceptable too! Here’s to abolishing gender norms!

Leave a Reply

