On Deciding I Wanted to be a Writer

Image

I can’t recall the exact moment that I decided to dedicate myself to being writer. It happened over time, and now here I am, with no other option, but putting everything I have into it. It was always something I thought about doing, from even my earliest school days. I’ve had teachers, starting back in first grade, who encouraged me to use my creativity in that way.

Math and English were the two subjects I excelled in, math more so than English. English was hit or miss, because some teachers didn’t agree with my opinionated sentiments, while others saw in me a knack for deep thought. Math, though, was my forte. People tend to view math and English as using two different ways of thinking, but I don’t. I use my creativity in both areas. With each there will be a problem, whether it’s mathematical or a theme I need to portray, and I must figure out the most effective way to get there. Writing allows for more freedom, though, so that’s the way I went.

When English teachers saw something special in me, it made me feel like I could do something different with my life. Having a mainstream job had never been an option for me. Admittedly, my childhood gave me somewhat of an ego or a complex that I was special. I’ve grown out of that ego, but not my desire to do something meaningful. I’ve just turned that desire outward. I’ve given it even more meaning in the way that I want to spread my ideas to other people who could benefit from them.

I primarily want to write for women in their late teens and early twenties. These people are so important for our culture. They can make change, but there needs to be some sort of direction. And I want my writing to be a part of that direction. I want to be a guiding force for others, help them through struggles or hard concepts with which I’ve also dealt.

That goal and my desire to write, in a way, developed hand in hand. I’ve just arrived at this plan for my life. It feels unbelievable to have direction after so long of being in confusion. Now, what I do is work my ass off until I achieve my dreams. 

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/olivander/58499153/”>Olivander</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

