On Having Brothers

There’s no doubt that the siblings that we have shape our personality in a lot of ways. I have two older brothers that have made me the person I am. Here’s five reasons why growing up with older brothers is an awesome experience for girls.

  1. You get to play with boys’ toys.
    Image
    I played with a lot of Legos and model rockets as a kid. Of course, this depends on what the parents buy and a lot of girls without brothers may have these toys too. But, the toys that are marketed for boys teach children a whole different set of skills. They work the opposite side of the mind than the more verbally based girls’ toys. It’s important for kids to develop both these skills, so playing with a variety of toys is good.
  2. You get picked on a lot.
    Being the only girl, with two older brothers, I was the victim of a lot of roughhousing. While I had to be careful going around corners in my house, I built thick skin. It’s good for a kid not to be coddled and to learn to fend for herself. My brothers taught me a lot of wrestling moves and I got a lot of bruises, physical and emotional, but today I don’t worry when something minor happens to me.
  3. You learn a lot.
    This goes for having both older brothers and older sisters, but you learn from the things they did, and sometimes they’ll actually teach you things. When I was not even in kindergarten, I remember one of my brothers teaching me how to add, subtract, multiply, and divide, using M and Ms. I honestly think it’s one of the reasons I turned out to be really good at math. Older siblings are ahead of the game, and may clue you in on what’s to come when they see fit. You also see the stupid things they do and decide not to do them and that helps too.
  4. You become very easy-going.
    When it came to playing games in my house, my older brothers decided what we were going to play. Often in make-believe games, one of my brothers would actually feed me lines to say. I’d go along with it; I was just happy to be playing. Today that translates into going along with whatever my friends want to do when we hang out. I never put up much objection when it comes to deciding the plan of action. Youngest children tend to stand back and let others call the shots, which makes them happy, so we’re not complaining.
  5. You’re not scared of guys.
    If you’re a girl with older brothers, you’ve seen it all when it comes to boys. They were your first friends, and you have no problem interacting with them. They’re just people. When you grow up, you don’t talk to your guy friends differently than your girl friends and vice versa. It takes away from that culture shock, or rather gender shock, when boys and girls start interacting more.

Those are my five reasons why having older brothers is awesome. There’s no doubt playing with a variety of kids, boys and girls, helps a child grow. Having two older brothers made me who I am, and clearly, I’m happy with that. 

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/dunechaser/4712687907/”>Dunechaser</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

5 thoughts on “On Having Brothers

  1. Very interesting. Maybe that toys thing is why I think more like a man. Even though I was an only child, I always hated skirts and dresses, and preferred to play with legos and fake guns.

    • I think it probably has a lot to do with it. Many of the girls who think more like the typical guy played with those types of toys when they were kids. I think it’s really important to work both sides of the brain while it’s developing.

  2. Knowing you AND your older brothers, I think you all got a great deal. I love seeing you all together, the way you interact, and especially the way you respect and are protective of each other. Nice blog, Britt.

Leave a Reply

