On Getting Sick

Right now, I’m lamenting about my current state of having the common cold. It sounds like nothing, but you know what? My back and shoulders ache, I’m shaky, and I can’t breath from my nose, so I’m going to complain. It struck me as ironic that I get a cold during a pretty stressful time in my life. It’s just one more thing to pile on. Then I thought, it’s probably not really ironic at all; there is surely a correlation.

I scoured the Internet for ways stress causes colds and found a lot of results, from it weakening our immune systems, to us clenching our muscles. And I think that that makes complete sense.

Why Mother Nature decided to send viruses our way when we’re feeling our lowest, I don’t know. She does a lot of fucked up things, but I can tell you a way we can cope with it better. If we were all more conscious that emotions are a real concern, people would be able to handle them better and not let them build up until we’re in extreme states of stress. Emotions do not have a place in objective thought, but that is not the only way of thought that exists. We each have our own subjective thought patterns that can cause real, tangible results, like getting a cold, or going on an maniacal killing spree. Each person is going to feel the way he feels, we might as well embrace it.

Let’s stop telling people they don’t have a right to act on their emotions, as long as it’s not extreme. Emotions don’t reside in some fairytale land. They exist in a real place, our consciousness, and they mingle quite frequently with the physical world.

Image

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/pkicken/6700297171/”>pkicken</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-sa/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

2 thoughts on “On Getting Sick

  1. I agree with your thoughts on emotional freedom, and on the same note, I believe we should also stop oppressing people’s thoughts and freedom to speak. Not that there is any hard set rules that keep us from speaking our minds, but just like emotions, social “rituals” and boundaries prevent us from being entirely free.

Leave a Reply

