On Hump Day

Image

It is Wednesday, the middle of many people’s workweeks, and the middle of my blog week. It’s that beacon of hope that the weekends coming, but the day we really start to get tired from the week. I wanted to do something different on my Wednesdays here at “Oshitbritt on Things.” To make things a little more interesting, I thought I’d make Wednesdays more interactive. I’ve decided to title Wednesdays “Two Way Hump Day.”

So, what’s “Two Way Hump Day” going to be all about? Well, on some Wednesdays I’ll pose questions to you guys, my readers, on topics I find intriguing. On other Wednesdays, I’ll answer the questions you have asked me in the page titled, “What Are You On?” in my menu at the top of my page. So, be sure to ask lots of inquisitive questions.

For my question today, you can answer in the comment box below, or write your own blog post, tagging it with “Two Way Hump Day.” And remember, the more people that respond to the post, the more interesting discussions we can engage in, so spread it around. Here’s the question: If a tree falls in a… just kidding. This is my actual question:

How do you define the feminist movement? What does it mean in our current culture? And do you have negative, positive, or neutral associations with it?

15 thoughts on “On Hump Day

    • Yes, I think it’s that and much more. I was active in the beginning of the so-called feminist movement (keeping in mind women have been fighting for equality for years and years, but there wasn’t a name for it). It was/is about women being respected in the workplace as an equal professional, not as a pretty thing to be flirted with or treated as a sex object; it’s about women being recognized for their intelligence, their contributions, their achievements; it’s about women being paid at the same rate for the same job as men; it’s about women being hired to the same jobs as men when they (women) are qualified for those jobs. The list goes on and on. But you get the idea.

  1. I think that feminism often suffers from the same syndrome that racism suffers from in our current world. Blind racism refers to the tendency for white people to believe that racism is no longer an issue in our society, while most people of color strongly disagree. The theory posits that white people feel this way because racism is not as prevalent in public dialogue and is almost taboo to the point that people are ignorantly politically correct. No one wants to be seen as racist so people are terrified of even bringing the topic up. I think the same happens with the feminist movement. People often downplay its importance because it is not discussed. I think many people are ignorant of the “script” they are socialized to use and to think is acceptable in reference to gender. For instance, people say things like “all girls are ______” or by making sexist jokes in a lighthearted way.

    • Yes. I often think about that concept and how we need to bring more awareness to both issues. In response to you comment on humor, do you think it’s possible to joke in such a way that brings awareness to the issue. More specifically, is there a difference between humor that inflames the stereotypes and the humor that sheds light on the stereotypes?

  2. Possibly. I can’t think of any examples of humor that sheds light on stereotypes that follows along the same lines as the kind that inflames them. Perhaps I’m not thinking outside the box enough. Do you know of any examples?

  3. I think that feminism is a necessary task and militancy for all the conscious and responsible people, women or men, it doesn’t matter. From my point of view, we can see all the days in many manifestations of our own societies how many work we have still to do in getting justice, equality, and respect for women: our collective language, culture, traditions, and understanding of reality are plenty of chauvinism. In that sense I find feminism should be a kind of active pedagogy, a permanent militancy as I said before. In fact, the best thing about feminism as critical discourse with our present societies is the chance to build a different world or to make things different. We can decide what kind of reality we want… so let’s do it.

    Thank you for let us this space and sorry about my English! Good luck with your interesting wordpress!

    • Thank you for this thoughtful comment. I specifically appreciate that you recognize feminism as a responsibility for men as well. People often think only women can be feminists, but I think it’s important for everyone.

  4. Firstly being Scottish “cunt” is a an acceptable word. To be called “good cunt” means you are the best type of person. Strange but true.
    Feminism I find pretty shameful. If everything was equal women would feel they have always be of value and appreciated. I think like all movements people hijack it and make it something it isn’t, make it more aggressive or militant and these are the people who have these hard-liners are usually those who get the most attention.
    It’s pretty straight forward. I am patriotic but I don’t hate the English. Some people can’t separate the ideas of being proud to be Scottish and hating Englishness. In the same way some people can’t dissociate feminism and hating men.
    Bad humor inflames stereotypes. Satire for instance, can tear them down

    • I have actually travelled to Scotland, and did see the word, “cunt,” being used much differently. Do you know the origins of the word in Scotland and how it differs from the United States? Maybe that would shed light on why it’s so offensive here but not there.
      Also, I’d like to hear more about the parallel you drew between nationalist Scottish people hating english and feminist women hating men. Do you think both those things set the movement back? I, obviously, agree that if a feminist hates a man, it defeats the point of equality. However, I haven’t come into contact with many women with that mindset. In Scotland, however, I think it’s different. I found a lot of people hating the English. There were also a lot of people who didn’t fault the English at all. It’s like that famous line from Trainspotting where he claims that he doesn’t hate the English but hates the Scottish instead.
      What other thoughts do you have on the similarities or differences between the feminist movement and the Scottish nationalist movement?

      • It’s not that they hate England. It’s that a lot of people assume they do hate England when they don’t. Same as some people assume feminists hate men when they don’t. Which is totally wrong. Trainspotting isn’t something you should really gauge anything except Trainspotting against

    • I see what you mean now. I do think many people can separate the two. In both circumstances, the movement are working against a force that has had power over them for so long. It’s not blind hate, even if there is hate, or something that can be interpreted as hate, directed at England or at men. When I was in Scotland, I did see some of that, not from every one, of course, but I understand the reasoning behind it. I think it’s important to distinguish between angst felt towards an oppressive force and hatred, which I failed to do in my comment.
      As for Trainspotting, I think it’s a good read and gives insight into Scottish culture for people who don’t have the means to travel there. It’s certainly not to be taken as the bible to Scottish culture.

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Posts of 2013 | Oshitbritt on Things

Leave a Reply

