On Distractions

Yesterday I was trying to sit myself down and get a lot of writing done. Sometimes I have days where I write for six hours straight, and other days, I’ll be lucky to get two hours in. Yesterday was the latter. I kept getting distracted by my burning candle and the red wax that was oozing onto the glass plate below. When I would get stuck after a sentence, I would turn to my candle and play with the wax for a few minutes. It entertained my mind, but of course took it away from the book it needed to write.

It’s really easy to live distracted lives these days with all the technology we have. We’ve all been to the point of boredom where we play soduku or other like games on our phones, or in our procrastinating moods where we scroll through our facebook newsfeeds hoping to find something interesting to little avail, or, my favorite, retreating into our phones in moments of awkwardness.

Image

We need distractions to an extent. They are like flotation devices and without them we would drown, but it isn’t good when we haven’t learned to swim without the help. Distractions help us when our minds are lost; we can evacuate a situation that brings us strain and let our minds wander, as mine did on the wax that moved like lava through my hands. But, distractions are tricky; they will pull us in, and we can miss out on achieving our tasks or experiencing life.

I did get my writing done and my candle was only slightly scathed by my incessant playing and molding it into different forms. Maybe those moods are our minds way of telling us we need a break from such rigorous concentration. Or maybe they are just temptresses bringing us crashing into the rocks.

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/birgerking/6875893248/”>birgerking</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

