On Dropping Out of College

There’s no doubt that a degree is important in our culture, but that’s only because we let it be. Personally, I don’t value a degree and that’s because obtaining a bachelor’s degree doesn’t mean a person is intelligent. It means they had a lot of late night cramming sessions fueled by coffee. Even when I was attending school, I never stayed up passed ten for the purposes of studying. I never had the motivation to, because that good grade never meant much to me. My self-worth has never relied on good grades, and therefore does not rely on me obtaining a degree.

Does this mean I would have a disadvantage in the work force? Absolutely. Thankfully, I never intend on entering the traditional American workforce. In fact, that is the last thing I want, so it seems silly for people to use that as a reason for me to stay in school. What I intend to do is be a self-made woman, which is completely feasible in this day and age, and no one has seemed to realize it yet. We have had a rebirth in the world, similar to the Industrial Revolution when new technologies gave birth to an abundance of new jobs. The Internet is a whole new realm in which we can forge new paths for our culture and ourselves. You don’t need much to do this, just maybe a computer and Internet access.

The people making it big on the Internet today, be it the engineers and great minds behind it, or the faces of the New Media, are shaping our new world. I would like to be one of these people. A degree is not needed to spread your work, your art, or your ideas in this realm. It is full of opportunities. This is the new American Dream.Image

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/mkhmarketing/8540717756/”>mkhmarketing</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

Leave a Reply

