On Cat Stevens

For the past couple hours I’ve been writing while listening to Cat Stevens. When it came time to write my blog post for the day, I struggled to come up with a good topic. As Cat Steven’s soft voice serenaded me, I knew what I needed to write on.

I always like to listen to music that mirrors the tone of what I’m writing. Today I was working on a somber scene, so I knew Cat Stevens was the man to fulfill my needs. His poetic lyrics, which sometimes don’t make logical sense but makes sense to a person’s soul, inspire me. He has a unique way of writing, which evokes imagery that makes you feel something. I think that’s the most vital aspect of art. It’s important to get people thinking and to start a dialogue and maybe even change a person’s point of view on something, but the most fundamental aspect of art is the emotional response it arouses.

Cat Stevens makes me feel the meaning of his song as well as think about it. The words he chooses, the way he says them, and the way they are paired with the music serve as the emotional basis. But, when you think about the words and what he may be trying to say with them you discover essential truths about humanity.  His lyricism inspires me in the way I want to write and his music composition puts me in the right frame of mind to get it out on the page.

I want to leave this post with a Cat Stevens quote to make you feel and think. There are so many good songs from which to choose. I have to go with my favorite Cat Stevens song, though, and that is “Sitting.” Check out the song and other Cat Stevens songs.

“Life is like a maze of doors and they all open from the side you’re on. Just keep pushing hard, boy. Try as you may, you’re gonna wind up where you started from, you’re gonna wind up where you started from.”

Image

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/epiclectic/2816690632/”>epiclectic</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nd/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

3 thoughts on “On Cat Stevens

  1. My creative writing professor told us on the first day of class that the point of all art was to say, “Hello! We are mortal!” I liked that. (I added the exclamation points.)

  2. Pingback: On My One Hundredth Post | Oshitbritt on Things

Leave a Reply

