On Indian Culture

A few weeks ago I attended an Indian dance and music festival. Having danced for about fifteen years, watching different forms always intrigues me. I was so entranced by the dancing. While zoning out and watching the rich colors move around the stage, I got to thinking about how extremely different Indian culture is from American culture.

I don’t really know much about Indian culture at all. I know Buddhism is from there. I really think Buddhism is a very valid philosophy. No, I am not one of those pseudo-intellectual, immature kids who thinks it must be intelligent because it’s different than here. I read a book titled, “The Tao of Physics,” which spoke a lot about Eastern religions, including Buddhism. These religions actually fit in really well with what science has discovered and continues to discover about the universe. The idea that god exists within nature and not separate from it speaks to me. In addition to that, I believe meditation and clearing one’s mind has a very important place in the human experience. I try to meditate every now and then, although I have not reached any deep states of letting go, because, sadly, I don’t have the patience. But, it does allow me to center and relax myself. And I guess everyone has the Indians to thank for “The Kama Sutra.”

Image

 

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/ramnath1971/8557889809/”>ramnath bhat</a> via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

I would really love to travel to India. My boyfriend and I are planning a trip together for next summer. We may go abroad, or we may do a cross-country type deal. We haven’t decided. It would be his first time really travelling on his own, though, so I don’t think India would be the best option as a first trip. I brought it up to him anyway, and he said no way. He doesn’t do well in hot climates. His fair skin will only allow him to do Scotland or Canada.

6 thoughts on “On Indian Culture

  1. Interesting to Know that you have visited India and you have participate in Indian Dance Program that is part of Indian Culture that’s represent the ancient time memories . I think you had enjoy your journey during your visit to India. And i hope you and your boy friend once again make a plan to visit India and you will see other parts of Indian Culture and Traditions . Have a wonderful Day !! :) :)

Leave a Reply

