On Money

I definitely agree that money should be a means and not the goal. This seems pretty obvious but we don’t really live by it in our culture. We’re so focused on going to college and getting a high paying job that we forget we can enjoy what we’re doing while we’re doing it. We idolize people who have more money than they know what to do with and believe that they are happy because of it. Things would certainly be easier if you could stumble upon this amount of money, but is it really better to have copious amounts than just enough where you don’t have to worry about getting your needs met? You wouldn’t have to worry about which type of tablet to get, what the thread count of your sheets is, or where you’re going to dock your yacht. Life would be simpler. It seems like the rich substitute one set of problems for another.

Ever since leaving school all I’ve heard is that I won’t get a high paying job in the future. I’m not really thinking about the future, though. I don’t believe postponing my present happiness will insure my future happiness, or even success. I try to fill my life with different experiences and not worry about money. I really don’t need to worry about money. I was lucky to have enough financial means so I don’t have to bust my ass at minimum wage jobs all the time and I value that so much. The fact of the matter is, most people attending college these days are blessed with those means as well, but are too focused on their perceived future success to value what they have now.

I suggest to people who are still unhappily going through the motions of school to take a semester off and work. Save up a couple thousand dollars doing so and then, before the next semester starts, travel in some way. It’s not impossible to see the world, be happy, and have life changing experiences. All you have to do is not let the path that society sets forth for you get to you. It’s okay to spend money if it’s on something that means a lot to you. And if you’re not happy at school, don’t go. Do something you love for which you don’t need a degree. You’ll still have to work just as hard, but you’ll be doing something you love, so at the end of the day you will be fulfilled by it, even if you have that yacht. 

2 thoughts on “On Money

  1. You have some good points there. What is wrong in our society today is that we worship money too much and we think that the purpose of getting a degree is to land to a high paying job, which undermines the purpose of getting educated: to pursue ones dream.

Leave a Reply

